Calm, Cool and Committed

Three Moms and a Dude

What does the world have against Night Owls?

on July 9, 2013

No, seriously, what’s the issue?

As you know, I’m a teacher.  It’s summer break and I’m loving every minute.  Every single, freaking minute!  Those who are my intimates know that I’m much happier now than I am during the school year.  One of the main reasons is that I actually get enough sleep. During summer break I can follow my preferred sleep schedule.  That puts me to bed between 2 and 4am, waking up between 10:30 and noon.

Already some of you Early Birds are aghast.  Mentally you’re thinking, “What a lazy piece of poo!” (Or something similar.)

Huh.  Really.  Lazy.  How’s that happen?  Check out the times I just listed.  If you go by my later schedule – 4am – noon – you’ll see that I get 8 hours of sleep.  Don’t early birds keep schedules like 10pm – 6am?  That’s also 8 hours!

I am often the brunt of jesting (at least I hope they’re in jest…) comments about my preference to sleep in late.

  • “Oh, you won’t see her up and about while the sun’s out.”
  • “Why don’t you get outside and enjoy the day?”
  • “Must be nice to be able to be lazy.”
  • “You’re wasting so much time!”

No lie, these are real comments I get (ask my hubby, since he reminded me of some of them). 

Why is it a problem that I run my day on the late shift?  I know people who get up early to write or exercise.  People who rise at 5am to get an hour of exercise or writing in are seen as dedicated, hard-working individuals.  That they are.  But why am I seen as less hard working because I went out for a jog at 9:30pm and am doing my writing at 11:30pm?

It shouldn’t be hard for Early Birds to understand schedule preferences, right?  Unfortunately, many of them seem to think it’s easy for Night Owls to adapt to the EB life.  I’m expected to be chipper and chirpy when work starts at 7:30 am.  Do Early Birds not realize that they’re not chipper and chirpy at midnight when I’ve hit my stride? 

I get that by nature more people are Early Birds because our caveman ancestors actually needed to follow daylight hours, blah, blah, blah, but come on.  Show some love to the Night Owls.

Don’t you like me better when I can choose my sleep schedule and not be the miserable, grumpy wreck I am when you make me get up at 5:30 in the morning?

At least I can stay up late knowing that I never make fun of Early Birds and how annoyingly sunshiney and bubbly (and annoying) they are at the buttcrack of dawn.  Well, okay, I do.  But that’s just because Night Owls are smarter.

Just saying.

Leave a Reply

