Calm, Cool and Committed

Three Moms and a Dude

We Got the Liebster Award!

on March 1, 2013

THE LIEBSTER BLOG AWARD

(Some of this text is copied from the award giver, because that’s how this award rolls, folks!)

Recently, Calm, Cool and Committed received the very cool, very fun Liebster Blog Award. We got the award from the equally cool and fun writer Katie Kenyhercz.

The Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. The word liebster is derived from German and roughly translates to sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. (We did say it roughly translates.)

Here are the rules for receiving the award:

1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.

2. Answer the questions the tagger previously answered.

3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.

4. Go to their page and tell them.

5. Remember, no tag backs!

Eleven things about us:

1. We all work in the same school, but not in the same building.

2. The four of us have never all sat down together.

3. One of our frequent topics of discussion is pregnancy.

4. There has never been a time where we all agreed on a topic.

5. Molar Mother and Mea almost always disagree, but still maintain a friendship.

6. TheDude has been MIA for a while now (on our blog), because he’s in grad school.

7. All but one of us are English teachers, but you’d never know.

8. We work with students in need.

9. 3 of us live in the ‘burbs, and 1 of us lives in the sticks.

10. We are all married and in the process of growing our families.

11. None of us missed the sarcasm gene.

Eleven questions about me and our answers:

1. Beach or mountain holiday?

MM – Beach!

Mea – Both!

TheDude – Beach

MF – Mountain

2. Where in the family do you come?

MM – I’m the baby. Which means the coolest.

Mea – I’m the oldest, most responsible and favorite child of 4!

TheDude – Youngest

MF – Oldest

3. Dog or cat person?

MM – I have three furbabies. You might call them cats, but I call them furbabies.

Mea – I love wild and zoo animals, as opposed to pets that depend on me to take care of them.

TheDude – Both. The cat is our firstborn, but our pups get the most attention.

MF – To play with and have fun – dogs. To own – cats.

4. What’s your favorite season and why?

MMSpring. It’s when everything comes alive again, and everything feels so much happier.

Mea – Summer! No stress, unlimited time with my kiddos (and family and friends), swimming, camping, beach, Vitamin D, the warmth of the sun, exercise, long days, yummy food, my birthday, my and my hubby’s anniversary…I could go on and on!!!

TheDude – I love photography in the fall, and I’m most comfortable in jeans and sweaters.

MF – Autumn. Everyone is outside trying to get their last big dose of Vitamin D before being cooped up for months. Also, I love not having to wear either a coat or sunblock!

5. What’s the last book you read?

MM – I finished Divergent over the weekend. I enjoyed it, but didn’t like the brand of morality it’s championing. I’m now reading The Twelve Tribes of Hattie, but I think I’m going to stop and move on. It’s not enjoyable to me.

Mea – My busy 2-year-old son and 12-year-old (going on 17) daughter leave me with little time to read. But, I “recently” finished Mockingjay from the Hunger Games series (I know, I’m a little behind!), and I am currently attempting to read Proof of Heaven: The Neurosurgeon’s Journey Into the Afterlife by Eben Alexander, M.D. and One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.

TheDude- 100 Years of Solitude Not the best book I’ve ever read.

MF – Favorite Wife & Codetalker. The first was about a polygamous cult. The second was about a Navajo code talker from WWII.

6. What’s the last movie you watched?

MM – When I was home sick this week, I watched A Bride for Christmas. It was cute!

Mea – The last movie I watched was with my tweener. I believe the title was From Prada to Nada. Can you guess whose turn it was to choose??

TheDude – The Dark Knight Rises. Amazing.

MF – El Orfanato. Awesome movie with a heart-wrenching twist.

7. What’s your favorite weather and why?

MM – I love a nice, slightly breezy 72 degrees. You can go outside in shorts but you don’t end up all sweaty.

Mea – 85-90 degrees and sunny with a slight breeze and absolutely no humidity! Ahhhhhh…take me away!

TheDude- 65-70 degrees. Jeans and light sweater. Awesome.

MF – Night time on the boardwalk weather. Lightweight sweatshirt and shorts. Or, early morning in the woods – cool and damp but not cold or windy.

8. What would you like to be written on your tombstone?

MM – Lived to be 25,043 years old.

Mea – I do not want a tombstone; a marker will suffice. I’d like my ashes to be scattered somewhere beautiful and close to my family.

TheDude – He loved God, and he loved his wife.

MF – The Hopi Prayer:
Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not
there,
I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the
diamond glints on snow.
I am the sunlight
On the ripened grain.
I am
the gentle Autumn’s rain.
When you awaken in the morning hush,
I am the
swift uplifting rush
of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars
that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry.
I am not
there.
I did not die.
My Spirit is still alive…

OK, that’s long.
Maybe just the last four lines.

9. How would you like to be remembered?

MM – I’m not sure exactly how yet, but I want to have changed the world in some way.

Mea – I’d like to be remembered as a mom, wife, daughter, sister and friend who could never be replaced.

TheDude – I’d like to be remembered as someone who made people feel loved. Still workin’ on that.

MF – As an inspiring matriarch.

10. When and why was the last time you giggled uncontrollably?

MM – I cannot remember exactly what happened, but my husband and I recently were in stitches over something. I think we were making fun of something. Hmmmm, what was it?

Mea – When I was with my best friend, Naomi, we were renaming her kids for some reason. I can’t remember why it was so funny, but neither of us could stop laughing! Perhaps our utter exhaustion was also a factor.

TheDude – My giggles are always controlled.

MF – My toddler told me that his daddy had whiskers on his puppy belly. (giggling again)

11. What’s your favorite photo on display?

MM – Bud’s daycare sent home a Christmas picture of him. He’s so happy in it and his feet and arms are a blur because he was so excited when the picture was taken.

Mea – There’s no one picture I can choose! I have favorite pictures of my husband and me, my family and friends, from different stages of my life that are all on display in my living room or at work! Every time I look at them, they make me smile!

TheDude – There is a picture I took which hangs in our office. It’s of a Peruvian family sitting in the doorway of their crooked house. I had the picture printed , but then I lost the negative. This one print is all I have left.

MF – The photo of Daddy-O kneeling on the dock where he proposed to me, kissing my pregnant belly.

Here are the bloggers that we are awarding the Liebster Award to. Visit them at their blogs and congratulate them!

Really Cranky Dad

Fourtuitous

New Old Fashion Vintage

Leave a Reply

