Calm, Cool and Committed

Three Moms and a Dude

2012 – In Review

on January 1, 2013

To prepare for my annual year-end recap, I looked at last year’s note.  At the end of my 2011 musings I wrote, “No matter what, 2012 looks to be a major year for the family.”  I was right.

 

So, without further ado,
Here’s 2012 in review.

  • Bud was born.  How could I not start the list with that?  He arrived a little bit late, but right on time.  From May until now, a lot of 2012 seems a blur.  A good blur.  I recently told a friend, “I know it sounds hokey, but he really brings me joy.”  It does sound hokey.  But it’s true.  He brings such joy to our lives.  When I see him and Hubby together, I realize how lucky I am.
  • This year I learned I can have a great friend who disagrees with me on everything.  EV.ER.Y.Thing.  I think that I spent the last couple years trying to find friends who agree with me, but I’m glad I have one who is my polar opposite.  Like seriously, I don’t know how we’re friends, we disagree so much, but she’s now one of my besties.  I’m looking at you, Mirander.
  • I submitted my most recent work to my agent.  I have a few more pages of suggested revisions to do.  Let’s not make that happen too late in 2013, okay??
  • I took a semester off grad school – you know, for the baby birthing thing – and went back into it.  I have to say, I really do love being a student.
  • This year’s Girls’ Christmas Dinner was one of the best I can remember.  How many women my age say they can play a board game with their high school friends and laugh so hard they nearly pee their pants?  I’ll always remember Jen, Susie, Manda and Krista…and 50 Shades of Grey.
  • I competed in two 5k’s.  My first 5k’s (if you don’t count the ones in triathlons).  I’m no runner (and no jogger, either), but I think the Thanksgiving week runs will become a Family tradition.
  • The In Your Write Mind booksigning was a thing of beauty.  All the authors, along with students, faculty and alums of the Writing Popular Fiction program, came together to put on an amazing booksigning – one worthy of any writing conference I’ve been to.  That, mixed with an amazing Gatsby Ball, made this year’s retreat a really superb one.  I think we’re going to have an even better event in 2013.  Don’t you think, WPFers?
  • The Dark Knight Rises made me cry.  Skyfall made me love Bond again.  The Five Year Engagement moved me beyond belief.  21 Jump Street was actually pretty darn good.  Though I’ve only seen two movies since May, 2012 was a year for some good ones.  I hope the trend continues.
  • I stopped thinking of my coworkers as “work friends” and started thinking of them as just “friends.”
  • We took Wolfe to the beach in October.  I have to say, it was a really great trip for only a few days.  It’s good to have a baby who travels well.
  • 2012 brought us some good, new writing buddies connected with Raw Dog Screaming Press.  I feel like the older I get the harder it is to find people I like.  The fact that I found TWO PEOPLE at RDSP is amazing!
  • Hazard Yet Forward hit #1 on the Amazon anthology list.  And tonight, on the last day of the year, Donna, the woman the anthology benefits, told us that she got a great report from her post-surgery pathology.  Woohoo!  Lots of love to Donna, she’s a survivor!
  • I’m sure there are many, many more things I should note here, but it all boils down to one big event.  And that loops me back to Buddy.

 

Here’s to 2013.  It would be silly to wish for a year without an

y heartache, so I won’t do that.  Instead, I’ll wish for a year where the highs outweigh the lows, where the laughs outshine the tears, and where the love outlasts the hate.

Bud and Hubbs, Holding Hands

Bud and Hubbs, Holding Hands

2 responses to “2012 – In Review

  1. Mea says:

    Awwww, shucks! Lol! Thanks for the shout out! But, we don’t disagree on everything, right? Wasn’t there that one time… 🙂

Leave a Reply

