Calm, Cool and Committed

Three Moms and a Dude

ALERT: Get your kids away from Elmo, NOW!

on November 12, 2012

**********UPDATE**********

The Elmo pupeteer’s accuser recanted his allegations of sexual abuse (click here to read more.). So, if the accuser was 18, instead of 16, when he and Clash started their sexual relationship, does that make everything okay? It still means an almost 30 year difference exists between the two men. If the accuser was a young female, would that make a difference? Or, what if the accuser was a young male having a sexual relationship with a “cougar” who is 30 years older? If 2 teens are having a sexual relationship, and one is 18, should the “adult” (male or female) go to jail? I don’t know…something about this still doesn’t sit right with me… I’m curious if you feel the same way. Either way, let me know in the comments below.

_________

Parents beware: Elmo is not the lovable, furry, red friend you thought he was. Instead, he is now merely the puppet behind an alleged pedophile.

Yep, you heard me correctly. Does this make you want to cry? Does it give you that nauseous, almost-puking feeling in the pit of your stomach? Are you now dreading the fits that will ensue when you attempt to remove Elmo from your toddler’s existence? Me too…ughh.

Reading this article actually made me quite sad (Click here to view the article.), because I love Elmo too! I’ve loved him ever since I was a kid. He’s bright red (my favorite color), his shrill is too cute, and he’s the most irresistible teacher that I’ve ever met. Wait, this startles me even further. Isn’t that what pedophiles do…lure their victims in with something too cute to resist? Again, I want to vomit. Just last night, my husband and I were woken up by talking Elmo, who our son was squeezing a little too tightly. Our son loves Elmo so much that he takes him to bed with him! And, right now, it’s the only thing that calms him down when I am trying to make dinner. He even requested an Elmo cake for his birthday…sigh. Why, Elmo, why???? Why are you doing this to me and every other child and parent out there???? Time to slowly transition him to Little Einsteins or something, I guess…grrrrr!

Despite the fact that the alleged charges haven’t been proven, I don’t think I will ever be able to look at Elmo the same way again. And, the thought of my son idolizing and playing with him now makes my skin crawl!

Is this Elmo’s demise? Will he ever recover? Will we ever be able to feel the same about him again? Or, (reaching here) is this some political conspiracy to get rid of Sesame Street funding? Seriously Mitt, you lost the election already; time to get over it!

At least the kids thought it was funny (the joke about Mitt…)!

7 responses to “ALERT: Get your kids away from Elmo, NOW!

  1. Matt says:

    Why do you have to get rid of Elmo? He didn’t do anything.

    • Mea says:

      I know, Matt, I know. Part of me thinks the same thing. But then I think of the cute voice luring kids in and it freaks me out!

  2. Matt says:

    I always wonder what people see in somebody so much younger…how do you even relate to that person? Having said that, if it works for both of them (since they were both, technically, adults) then it’s their business. And I will still tickle Elmo.

  3. naomi atkins says:

    Do you really think it’s a Mitt Romney conspiracy?? You sound like Jonathan, except the other way around.. lol! Good article though!

  4. Kristen says:

    Awwww, don’t let this ruin Elmo for you! I don’t think it is fair to call Kevin Clash a pedophile. He brought joy to millions of children’s lives for 20 years…..

Leave a Reply

