Calm, Cool and Committed

Three Moms and a Dude

Adrenaline Rush, Baby!

on November 4, 2012

Pedal to the metal…music pounding…singing to the beat…blurring into the distance…adrenaline rush, baby! I love it!!! I love it so much, in fact, that I could probably start listing my collection of speeding tickets as one of my great accomplishments! Okay, maybe it’s not thaaaaaaat bad, but I have earned my share of warnings and fines over the years (Sorry, officer brother-in-law and insurance-sharing husband!!).

Now, before you start freaking out about how I have kids, and I’m putting everyone else in danger…blah, blah, blah. (Give me a break; I’m obviously in complete control!), I save my speeding addiction for the very, very, very, very, few times I am in the car without my kiddos, which explains my most recent ticket after a fantastic night out with the girls…ughhh…total adrenaline crash.

Honestly, every once and a while I NEED an adrenaline rush. It makes me feel alive and young and free. When I met my husband, he provided constant rushes of adrenaline that I had never experienced before. He was new, exciting and opened my eyes to a totally different world – a world of fun, adventure and freedom, where it’s okay to think about yourself every once and a while. Hands down, it’s one of the top five reasons I married him and what still makes my heart skip a beat.

Although having kids has seriously slowed that part of our journey, we both still crave that feeling of freedom and blood-surging exhilaration.  Because I understand this longing, I cannot be too upset with my husband right now, who rushed into a hurricane devastated and dangerous part of New York City Friday night, in order to help a struggling company (sigh, shake, gasp…worry). He needs to feel alive, just as much as I do. And, secretly, I think my husband has always wanted to help save the world. This is his chance to do something meaningful. By helping this company, he also helps the people trying to recover from Hurricane Sandy. I can’t fault him for that, can I? Afterall, if I didn’t have the kiddos, I’d be right beside him.

Here are a couple pictures from his trip (minus a video that refused to play upright of a mile-long stretch of cars waiting for fuel):

Leave a Reply

